Skip to Content

Tools and support

Tools and support

Tools overview / Tools A-Z / Box

Saving in Box

How to save files and folders, work from Office, the use of version history and information about safety and backup of files and documents.

Storage options in Box

  1. Uploading files and folders
  2. Using the drag and drop function
  3. Creating documents directly in Box (requires the installation of Box Edit)
  4. Work with Box for Office tools
  5. Saving in the Box Sync folder on PC
  6. Version history in Box - using previous versions
  7. Safety
  8. Backup
  9. Recycle bin and recovery

1. Uploading files and folders

  • Click on Upload in the top left corner in Box, then choose whether to upload a file or a folder.

Skjermbilde: Klikk på Upload til venstre i Box

2. Using the drag and drop function

It is also possible to drag a file directly from your computer to Box.

  • Add the file/ folder to the desired location.

Skjermbilde: Du kan dra en fil direkte fra pc til Box ved hjelp av drag and drop

3. Creating documents directly in Box

You can create different types of documents directly in Box without having to first save them on your computer.

Requires to use Box Edit.

  1. Click on: New - top left corner in Box.
  2. Select the document type you want to create.

Skjermbilde: Opprett nytt dokument, klikk New og velg dokumenttype

4. Work with Box from Office

Use Box Edit and/or Box for Office if you often need to work with/or store Office documents, such as Word, Powerpoint or Excel.

Box Edit

The app Box Edit enables to open Office documents directly in the appropriate Office application when using Box.

An example: Word files will automatically open in Word on your computer and automatically upload to Box when saving.

Install Box Edit:

  • Windows 10: Open Software Center from the Windows Start menu under HiOA Standard.
  • Search for "Box Edit" and install on your PC.

or

  • Windows 7: Find the BIT icon on your desktop.
  • Select: Installere programvare (only in Norwegian).
  • Search for "Box Edit" and install on your PC.

.

 

Box for Office

Box Office app is a storage option in all MS Office applications.

You can easily save PowerPoint presentations or Word files to Box without uploading manually when using Box for Office.

Install Box for Office:
  • Windows 10: Open Software Center from the Windows Start menu under HiOA Standard.
  • Search for "Box for Office" and install on your PC.

or

  • Windows 7: Find the BIT icon on your desktop.
  • Select: Installere programvare (only in Norwegian).
  • Search for "Box for Office" and install on your PC.

.

 

5. Saving in the Box Sync folder on PC

If you have installed Box Sync, any documents saved in the Sync folder (C: \ Users \ your username \ Box Sync) will be synchronised and saved directly in Box.

  • Documents uploading are marked with an orange synchronisation sign.
  • Synchronised documents are marked with a check mark.

Skjermbilde: Dokumenter blir synkronisert automatisk dersom du har Box Sync på PC og legger inn dokumenter i mappen

Read more about saving on support.box.com.

5. Version history - using previous versions

How to use version history in Box.

Each time you save a document with Box Edit or upload a new version of a document, Box saves the old version and adds the new one.

  • The old version is automatically saved in the history with a new version number. You do not need to save the file with a new version name.
  • By clicking on the version icon V, you can easily retrieve an earlier version if you have overwritten a document by mistake.

Skjermbilde: Versjonshistorikk i filer i Box er merket med V for version

  • You can retrieve earlier versions by clicking the Version icon of the document in question.
  • Download the version you want, or make it the current version.

If you make an old version the current version, this version will get the latest version number.

All previous documents in the history keep their version numbers.

Skjermbilde: Alle tidligere dokumenter i historikken beholder sitt versjonsnummer

Version number and shared documents

If you share a document by sending a link, the link will always direct you to the most recently updated version.

6. Safety in Box

In order to secure the files and documents you store in Box, you should at all times follow some simple advice:

  • Be sure about who you share your documents with. Double check the names and email addresses before you send requests about sharing.
  • Always check that you uploaded the correct document and that the document ended up in the correct folder, with the appropriate user access for the people you share it with.
  • Log out of Box after use. Close the browser and log off your computer when you leave it.
  • Use a passcode lock on your smartphone if you have installed Box on it.

7. Backup

The files and documents that you upload to Box are not saved at HiOA but in Box in the United States.

HiOA can not retrieve backups just like that, but if a problem arises, you still have the possibility to retrieve your documents.

Version history

Everything you store in Box has a version history.

By clicking on the version icon, you can easily retrieve a previous version if you have overwritten by mistake.

You can retrieve earlier documents by clicking the Version icon of the current document.

Skjermbilde: Versjonshistorikk i filer i Box er merket med V for version

Select the version you wish to download or make it the current version.

Skjermbilde: Alle tidligere dokumenter i historikken beholder sitt versjonsnummer

8. Recycle bin and restoration

Everything you delete in Box will be placed in a recycle bin. The files are available for recovery for one month.

  • The recycle bin contains documents and files that you have deleted.

Skjermbilde: Alt du sletter i Box blir lagt i en søppelkasse. Filene er tilgjengelig for gjenoppretting i én måned

Restoring documents

  1. Find and tick off the file(s) you wish to restore.
  2. Select Restore.

Skjermbilde: For gjennoppretting, finn filen og huk av den du ønsker å gjenopprette og velg knappen Restore

 

Save

Contact